I

each morning                           as dawn snatches moon

the creaks, the groans          the wakening sounds

of old bones, unfolding       of petals unfurling

unwrapping from                   and opening wide

our nightly rapture                towards daytime skies

II

do you recall

how when first we met;

you hid behind your shy smile,

and I within the petals of

your proffered bouquet?

how my allergic sneeze

broke our stilted silence

and we laughed together

as we do still?

III

our ancestors

broke

backbone of

prairie soil

scattering

seeds

of civilization

now their bones

lay tucked neatly

within

graves marked

by return of

wind-nodding

laughing

wildflowers

© Lorraine 2017

Three rifts off Charles Bukowski: “Love breaks my bones and I laugh,” for mlmm Sunday writing prompt: love flowers 2.7.17

 

