In a recent post, [Miz] Quickly wrote:

. . this is a call of sorts, a request and an explanation. I want us all to–not to make language new, I don’t believe what’s new can be understandable–to try to notice.

Along with the world around us, to notice our own response, and notice the words we use when we try to tell or explain. Let’s give, pay, exercise attention.

excerpt from “About Now.”

My grasp and use of emojis is limited – by my laptop programs and by my knowledge. I have my wordpress settings set to display the key strokes, not the expressioned face or other images, these create. On one blog, I responded, for a while, to comments in the third person: “Thank you,” she said blushing, “for your high praise.” I used the bipolar keystroke : ) : but realized people might see it as a smiling woman with breasts rather than the representation of the bipolar dichotomy, so stopped.

I once possessed a list of keystrokes =, but have misplaced it. I don’t have a twitter account, nor do I have the techno or mental capacity to use my phone’s emojis/symbols to comment on posts/comments. But, with my limited memory and skills, I nonetheless emoji’d. The simple happy face with a raised eye brow or laugh. But if I’m to take up Quickly’s call to notice how I try to tell and explain, then perhaps I should write Smiling. Eyebrow raised. Clapping. True, emojis are a universal language of a sort, like the pictograms for bathrooms, street crossings, and danger. But if I’m trying to play with words, then I’ll take it that step further.

The same for the exclamation point – try to make my point emphatically without one. If nothing else, it will slow me down, make me think a sentence or emotion through. If I lived in a twitter and text-based world, the need for speed and space would mean/need a quick symbol to represent words. But, for a time, I think I’ll try and rely on words, not symbols, to say what is (or isn’t) on my mind. To notice. Smiling, with emphasis on smile.

image: Quickly/impromptu

