We deal in information, not necessarily words.

LindaGHill @ Life in Progress mused a while back about not using exclamation points, but rather emphatic language. Which made me think of not using the few emoticons I know I how to keyboard (I don’t have an apple device with a thousand faces) rather than words to express emotions or statements like thank you.

I just finished reading A Death at Pemberley (2008) in which PD James imagines Mr. & Mrs. Darcy (and other characters from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice) dealing with a murder on the estate several years into their happy marriage. Not for the first time, I am struck by the amount of letter writing that seemed to daily fill people’s lives of a certain class, such as Elizabeth in the 1700 and 1800s. Carpal tunnel from good penmanship?

Until the new year, then, gone are the !!!!, WTF, and Open-mouthed smile :) and Winking smile. To be replaced by what are the most difficult for me to find most days – words.

(c) Lorraine

 

