Painting: Franz von Stuck, Evening Star (1912)

“Now those memories come back to haunt me
They haunt me like a curse
Is a dream a lie if it don’t come true
Or is it something worse” B. Springsteen, “The River.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I wasn’t going to be like Mama, trapped by Papa, leashed to sorrow

Still had my freedom and the morrow, yes freedom and the morrow

Then I lay with him, naked, on a moon-less night

His fingers magic, his mouth brought such delight

But pleasure ere comes with pain; cycle never ending

With child, so now his wife, to his will I’ll be bending

So, here I am just like Mama, trapped by a man, leashed to sorrow

But,the babe and I shall flee on the morrow, yes on the morrow

 

For Mindlovemisery’s Menagerie Friday Music Prompt: The River, by Bruce Springsteen.

logo-2_thumb.png

© my frilly freudian slip

 

 

